Fulp, Kaplan Join Assembly


Jay Barrett/KMXT

The next time the Kodiak Island Borough Assembly meets there will be two new faces at the table. Judy Fulp, who we profiled earlier this week, and Dave Kaplan, who won as a write-in candidate. They joined returning incumbent Sue Jeffery in being sworn in at last night’s assembly meeting.

Though sworn in last night, Fulp and Kaplan won’t officially take office until Monday morning. Their first meeting will be a special work session on Thursday.

After the meeting Kaplan expressed his relief and pleasure at being sworn in:

(Boro 1 21 sec "It’s been five months … glad to serve Kodiak.")

Fulp and Kaplan are replacing Assemblymen Tom Abell and Reed Oswalt, both of whom chose not to seek re-election. Abell has been on the assembly for 12 years, Oswalt three. Both received commemorative plaques from Mayor Jerome Selby and gave brief good-byes at the end of the meeting.

(Boro 2 1:16 "So many people have … say not much, thank you. (laughter fades")

Former Assemblyman Mel Stephens (stevens) had very specific thanks for Abell and Oswalt for NO votes they once cast about two and a half years ago on a proposed ordinance:

(Boro 4 41 sec "That was an ordinance … and this was an up day.")

Check Also

PHS aquaculture students release salmon fry into City Creek, about two miles outside of Petersburg. (Photo by Shelby Herbert/KFSK)

Alaska Fisheries Report 30 November 2023

This week on the Alaska Fisheries Report with Terry Haines: KNBA’s Rhonda McBride talks to …

%d bloggers like this: