Two New Faces Join KICVB Board


Jay Barrett/KMXT

The Kodiak Island Convention and Visitors Bureau held its annual meeting recently, handing out more than a half-dozen awards and electing two new people to the board of directors.

Janet Buckingham, the executive director of the CVB, said two of the awards this year are brand new.

(KICVB 1 32 sec "The new awards are … visitors to the island.")

Dake Schmidt of Memory Maker Tours won the Hospitality Award based on the number of visitors who took the time to come into the Visitors Center to vote for him. Cindy Rio won the Volunteer of the Year Award.

Buckingham says the KICVB staff gave an award of their own, the "Sea Lion Award":

(KICVB 2 45 sec "Dan Busch, who received the … who are very good to us.")

Other awards include the "Bear Cub," which went to The Artist’s Eye, owned by Kerry Kearns; the Baranov, which went to Karen Hansz of Kodiak Adventures Unlimited; the Puffin, which was given to Mary Jane Majdic (my-ditch) of Channel Side Chowder House; the Emerald Service, given to Mike and Lisa Carlson of the Larsen Bay Lodge; and the President’s Award, given to Fran Kelso.

Buckingham told KMXT’s Jay Barrett that during the annual meeting, three seats were filled on the board of directors:

(KICVB 3 33 sec "Katie Oliver, who has … so there will be a change.")

More information on the awards can be found online in the Kodiak Island Convention and Visitors Bureau newsletter, "Bear Tracks," at Kodiak dot org slash KICVB.


Check Also

Midday Report – December 8, 2023

In today’s Midday Report – Alaska’s backlog of processing SNAP applications continues; information about a …

%d bloggers like this: