Six Seek Three Assembly Seats; No Contests in City

Jay Barrett/KMXT

Well, pretty soon you can start calling Pat Branson "Madam Mayor." The one-year councilwoman – who also served several terms on the borough assembly – is the only person to file for the office of mayor.

While you’re at it, welcome Randal Bishop and Terry Haines to the city council – they are the only candidates for the two available seats.

The filing deadline was Monday afternoon at 4:30.

Branson will replace Mayor Carolyn Floyd, who is retiring after 18 years in office. Also retiring after 18 years is Councilman Tom Walters. The other open council seat is currently held by Branson.

And while there is no competition for city candidates, there will be quite a scrum for the three available Kodiak Island Borough Assembly seats, with six candidates running.

They include two incumbents: Judy Fulp and Dave Kaplan. The list of candidates does not, however, include incumbent Sue Jeffrey.

The other candidates are Gail Brandt, Tuck Bonney, Mel Stephens and Dennis Symmons. All terms are for three years.

There are two candidates for the two available three-year term seats on the school board: Katie Oliver and Aaron Griffin. Incumbent Peggy Rauwolf is running again, but according to the borough’s official candidate list, she is seeking the single, one-year term. Also running for that seat is Giovanni Tallino.

On the borough’s service area boards, where there are 10 open seats, there are only five candidates.

The municipal election will be held on October 4th.

Check Also

Alaska Fisheries Report 07 December 2023

This week on the Alaska Fisheries Report with Terry Haines: The take of killer whales …

%d bloggers like this: