Five Community Members Run for KEA Board

logo-w-sunburstKayla Desroches/KMXT

Five members of the Kodiak Electric Association are running for three seats of three years on the KEA Board of Directors.

Several of the candidates have run before. According to his bio in the annual membership meeting notice, businessman Ron Acarregui has served 16 years – as vice chairman for nine of them. Cliff Ford, assistant professor of technology at Kodiak College, has also served before, as has Ben Millstein. Millstein is the founder and manager of the Kodiak Island Brewery and a member of the Brewer’s Guild of Alaska.

Two other potential board members are new to KEA.

Terry Haines is a longtime commercial fisherman based in Kodiak who previously served as Kodiak City Councilman for three terms.

As for the final candidate, Tyler Kornelis, he writes in his bio that he moved to Kodiak four years ago so that his partner could practice medicine in the town she grew up in. Kornelis is a project manager in the Kodiak Area Native Association’s Community Services Department.

All KEA members will have the choice to vote and should send in their ballots by April 21 at noon. The winners will be announced at the 75th Annual Membership Meeting on April 24.

Edit 03/31: A previous version of this article wrongly stated that Ben Millstein had not served on the board before


Check Also

Kodiak Electric Association’s impending rate increase partially due to lower energy sales to fish processors

For the first time in 30 years, electric rates are going up in Kodiak. The …

%d bloggers like this: