Tuesday is municipal election day — here’s what you need to know

Polling is open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. on Tuesday. (Photo by Kavitha George/KMXT)

Tuesday is election day in Kodiak, and there are plenty of decisions to be made on this year’s ballot.

On the borough side, three candidates are running for two assembly seats: Scott Arndt, the incumbent, retired civil servant Duane Dvorak, and lawyer Mel Stephens.

Two candidates are running for the position of borough mayor. Bill Roberts is a retired assessor for the borough, and Sandra Katelnikoff-Lester is a business owner in town.

Two candidates are also running for the open school board seat: Cejie Benoit, a local parent, and Julie Cain Hill, a long-time teacher in the district and incumbent on the school board.

There are also two candidates running for the Womens Bay Service Area Board, Jason Chandler and Christopher Windnagle. Mike Dolph is running unopposed for Fire Protection Area No. 1 Board and Craig DeHart is running unopposed for Service District No. 1 Board. Currently, there are no candidates running for open seats on the Bay View Road Service Area Board or the Monashka Bay Service Area Board.

The city side is fairly straightforward. Incumbent Mayor Pat Branson is running unopposed for her fifth term. Incumbent city councilors Charlie Davidson and John Whiddon are also running for their seats on city council.

Monday is the last day to submit a write-in candidacy form for any of these positions to either the borough clerk or the city clerk.

Don’t know where to vote? If you live near town, it’s one of four places. Residents who live within city limits, on the the side of Mill Bay Road that’s closest to the ocean vote at the Harbormaster Building. Residents who live within city limits on the other side of Mill Bay (the side that’s further from the ocean) vote at the Teen Center on Cedar St.

Monashka and Spruce Cape residents vote at Bayside Fire Hall, and Bells Flats residents vote at the Womens Bay Fire Hall.

For the outlying villages, polling places are as follows: Chiniak residents vote at the Chiniak Post Office. Akhiok, Karluk and Larsen Bay vote at the Larsen Bay Community Hall. Old Harbor residents vote at the Old Harbor Senior Center. Ouzinkie residents vote at the Ouzinkie Community Center, and Port Lions residents vote at the Port Lions Community Building.

All polling places will be open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. If you have questions about your polling place, or aren’t sure how to vote, call the city clerk’s office at (907) 486-3181 or the borough clerk’s office at (907) 486-9310.

Check Also

City Council approves nearly a million dollars for water main repairs

Kodiak City Council approved $950,000 at an emergency meeting last week to pay for a …

%d bloggers like this: