Early voting underway for Kodiak’s municipal elections

Editor’s Note: KMXT is speaking with candidates running in competitive races. This page will be updated with audio from those interviews when it is available.

Early voting for Kodiak voters is located at the Borough Assembly Chambers. (Photo: KMXT/Kirsten Dobroth)

Early voting opened Monday, Sept. 19 for both the Kodiak Island Borough and the city of Kodiak’s municipal elections. Registered voters can vote weekdays from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. in the Borough Assembly chambers (710 Mill Bay Road). 

Polling sites will also be open on election day – Tuesday, Oct. 4 – from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m. This election is not ranked choice – voters will have a chance to rank candidates in order of preference in the general election on Tuesday, Nov. 8.

Informational voting materials for this year’s municipal elections are available online, and are also available in the Filipino language, and are available at the borough clerk’s office, on the Kodiak Island Borough’s website, and the borough’s Facebook page.


What’s on this year’s ballot?

Kodiak voters will be asked to vote on Kodiak’s borough mayor, three-year and one-year appointments for Borough Assembly, two City Council positions, and one, three-year term for Kodiak’s school board. Some residents may also vote on local service area board appointments. There is also one candidate running unopposed for a seat on the Fire Protection Area No. 1 Board.


Borough races

Current Assembly member Aimee Williams is running unopposed for Borough Mayor, which is a three-year term.

Four candidates are running for two, three-year terms on Kodiak’s Borough Assembly: Scott Arndt (incumbent), Jared Griffin (incumbent), Larry LeDoux and Jacob Castonguay

Two candidates are running for one, one-year term on the Kodiak Island Borough Assembly: Cort Neff and Joseph Delgado (incumbent).

James Pryor is running unopposed for a three-year term on the Kodiak’s school board.


Kodiak city race

Three candidates are running to fill two, three-year terms on Kodiak’s City Council; Charlie Davidson (incumbent), John Whiddon (incumbent) and Bruce Shactler.


Is there anything else voters have to decide?

Yes. Kodiak voters will be asked to vote “yes” or “no” on one proposition, which asks whether the Borough Assembly’s current size and the process for electing Assembly members should stay the same. 

The vote is procedural and required by the state’s redistricting statues, which were adopted in April.

Check Also

Alaska’s congressional delegation spoke to visiting students outside the U.S. Capitol Wednesday. Sens. Lisa Murkowski and Dan Sullivan were demonstrating the hand signals they use to vote in the Senate chamber. Their gestures happen to reflect how they feel about a Senate trial on the impeachment of Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas. (Liz Ruskin/Alaska Public Media)

Midday Report – April 11, 2024

On today’s Midday Report with host Terry Haines: A partisan brawl is about to erupt …

%d bloggers like this: